What is this color I see?

April 13, 2011 at 8:31 pm 7 comments

Rabbits by my house are merciless. Usually. But~ could this year really be different?

Look what I found proudly sitting in the sun …  COLORFUL CROCUSES! Oh, rabbits, are you messing with me, mocking me, lulling me into a false sense of security that I get to actually enjoy my tulips and crocuses without constant vigilance.

Whatever. I’ll be ready. But, thanks for the sweet reprieve right now!

What’s your best secret for keeping the rabbits at bay?

I usually use cayenne wax pepper spray ~but they’re on to me! They’re smart. And, they have great memories. I NEED HELP!!

Entry filed under: Spring Planting. Tags: .

In the Conservatory Happy Easter!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  April 13, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    ashes, ashes, we all fall down! Ring your garden with ashes, rabbits are said to not like the smell.

    Reply
  • 2. Heidi  |  April 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Hi Laura! I will let you know how that works for me. I’m assuming I’d have to ring around the garden every time it rains…??

    Reply
  • 3. Bunny  |  April 13, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Hey Heidi, The Crocus are great!!! For rabbits and deer try Milorgraite from Jerrys Hardware in Maple Grove. One of my older clients said it works great and only have to apply
    3 times the whole season. It is working for me so far,the Deer eat some tulips last week but now that I have the Milograite on they are not!!!

    Reply
  • 4. helmetorheels  |  April 14, 2011 at 9:52 am

    I don’t have any flowers coming up yet. Maybe I should plant bulbs for next year!

    Reply
  • 5. roadsidewonders  |  April 14, 2011 at 10:39 am

    My Grandma taught me this and it really works. It’s sounds kind of gross … but I use hair from my hairbrush. Human hair seems to work best (I tried dog hair one year it didn’t work)

    … and you won’t need to reapply after it rains.

    Reply
  • 6. Heidi  |  April 14, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Thanks everyone! I appreciate all the help on fighting my nemesis. From ashes to human hair to milorganite… something’s gotta work!!

    Reply
    • 7. Sharon Courneya  |  May 19, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      Heidi, I tried so many things and finally I put up a fence.
      Try a fence, it REALLY works!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Contact me

AwesomeHerbs{at}comcast.net

Archives


