Rosemary Topiaries

September 12, 2010 at 7:57 pm 6 comments

I’ve got topiaries on the brain as of late.  They are just so charming and artful. Althouth I imagine it’s not too easy to force a live plant into a certain shape and then maintain it.  I don’t know about your plants, but mine… well, they’ve got minds of their own!

Since it’s going to get chilly in the Twin Cities soon, I decided to get my rosemary out of the ground today. And, I thought it the perfect time to try and make a few topiaries out of my unruly rosemary.

The plan is to create Christmas trees topiaries. I trimmed the bottoms of these sprigs and put them into moist soil. I’ll keep them moist, hope for the best and trim and snip until Christmas time. With any luck, I’ll have 5 sweet smelling herbal gifts that resemble mini Christmas trees.

Luck… I think I’m going to need it. Wish me some, won’t you! Or better yet, offer any advice if you have it! Thanks.

Happy Sunday!

Entry filed under: Culinary Herbs. Tags: .

Labor Day Project Falling in Color

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bunny Carlson  |  September 12, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Heidi, I’m looking forward to watching your new idea .. Great fun!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Heidi  |  September 25, 2010 at 10:21 am

      Thanks Bun!!!

      Reply
  • 3. Laura  |  September 13, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I love these! I made one once. I friend of mine just told me about coleus topiaries. I will investigate it further and share the idea! : )

    Reply
    • 4. Heidi  |  September 25, 2010 at 10:19 am

      Coleus topiaries?? hmmm, I’d like to see that! Please do share Laura. thanks.

      Reply
  • 5. Barbara  |  September 19, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment!
    I wonder whether your little rosemary “trees” will grow so fast till Christmas. I think they first have to get roots and this also needs a certain time. Up to now I didn’t make cuttings from rosemary but I guess it will be about the same like my rose cuttings. Actually we have chilly nights here and I also start to prepare my garden for winter now. It’s quite nice to work in the garden in the afternoon when sun is shining. In about a month it won’t be the same. They already had the first snow in the mountains.
    I really wish you luck with your little “trees” and hope you’ll show us the final result !
    Have a good time!
    Barbara

    Reply
    • 6. Heidi  |  September 25, 2010 at 10:21 am

      Thanks Barbara! So far, so “ok” The transplants are holding their own. I’m trying to keep the soil moist but not so much that I invite mold. I hope little roots are taking hold and I will certainly share the results.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Contact me

AwesomeHerbs{at}comcast.net

Archives


