August Bounty…

August 10, 2010 at 7:04 pm 7 comments

Tada! The bounty from our garden thus far in August lies before you in all its lush glory. Oh~ there’s also zinnias in full bloom and three gorgeous basil plants, I just didn’t want to overwhelm you with color!

Tomatoes on skinny limbs are only further evidence that we need to move the garden to a sunnier spot.

My friend Laura gave me some plants from her outstanding garden…Spanish fennel, ivy, Black-eyed Susan… most of which have been transplanted. I also planted lettuces for fall harvesting. I LOVE growing my own lettuce.

I’m excited to make some big changes in the garden this fall… moving this and that here and there! And, turning the smaller garden into a kitchen-cottage garden.

that’s it. how are you? what’s new in your garden?

is everything going perfectly for you or do you have challenges as well??

Entry filed under: Harvest. Tags: .

Garden Fresh Ideas & Inspiration Leaves to Bouquets

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. helmetorheels  |  August 11, 2010 at 10:20 am

    I’m almost at the tipping point of planting a garden next year looking at the fresh veggies!! I have 8 -9 months to ponder!

    Reply
  • 2. Simply Betsy  |  August 11, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Oh, just the pictures are inspiring to me! We started a garden this yard, and our soil must have been a great mix because it’s gone KABOOM and exploded into the longest and tallest Kentucky Wonder Beans on poles, gourd vines climbing over everthing, including the Kentucky Wonder Beans, full headed purple cabbage and cherry tomatoes galore. Our salad greens have gotten out of hand and are going to seed. Next year we will do better planning regarding our planting, but at least it’s nice to know the plants loved the soil. ( We had such crummy soil at our last home.)

    Reply
  • 3. Cheryl  |  August 11, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    That’s one gorgeous zucchini!! My basil is taking over my patio! All the herbs are absolutely loving all this hot humidness we’ve been having lately!

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara  |  August 15, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Thank you for visiting and leaving your comment which gives me the possibility to visit your lovely blog too! I see you’re also harvesting vegetables and I guess you are as busy in the kitchen as I actually am 😉 !! I only have a very little vegetable garden, better 2 gardenbeds, but I enjoy to harvest and eat fresh vegetables. At the moment we have a lot of zucchinis too, together with the tomatoes I can make various dishes.
    Greetings from a wet and rainy garden!
    Barbara

    Reply
  • 5. Laura  |  August 19, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Happy planting Heidi! You are always welcome to plants from my garden.

    Reply
  • 6. Simply Betsy  |  October 3, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I love the idea of repurposing the tealight holder! Your pictures and layout are like a lovely garden itself. I enjoy meandering through your blog posts and pictures.

    Reply
  • 7. Simply Betsy  |  October 3, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I have decorative gourds growing in my garden and am not sure of the best way of drying them out, any recommendations?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Contact me

AwesomeHerbs{at}comcast.net

Archives


