Step Into My Garden!

July 17, 2010 at 3:37 pm 12 comments

Do you ever find rodents funny? Probably not. Unless of course they’re squirrels trying to find relief on hot summer days. Then, you might think rodents are very funny.

It’s blazing hot today! So hot a squirrel tried to find comfort by first~ spreading himself along the grass… then, rolling about the grass like a puppy… and finally, finding a nice round rock by the fire-pit to stretch himself over. He must have figured that would be the coolest place. Squirrels are clever that way. The whole scene was very entertaining! But, apparently he wasn’t in the mood to let a human mock him, so unfortunately I don’t have documentation for you.

Onto the garden…

although not nearly as entertaining as hot squirrels~ all things flora and fauna are taking place nonetheless. For instance…

we now have a veggie garden… rabbit-proofed and all. And as far as I know, only one deer was able to jump over. We started the veggies from seed and got a great start. But, there wasn’t enough light until recently. Okay garden… grow!

{click images to enlarge}

I just found this in the garden this morning. Be it weed or be it flower? I’ve no idea… anyone?

This guy is supposed to keep the rabbits away but I think he’s plotting against me and is really the gang leader. Bad rabbit. But, anyways cleaning up the back forty so it’s not so much the eyesore.

now we have 3 grapevines. 2 white. 1 red.

and this is my favorite container flower. I call it the Star Trek flower. It closes up at night. If you know the name, please let me know!

Until next time…

Much love & thanks to my dear friend {Cheryl} who reminded me about this blog and another dear friend {Pam} who put Awesome Herbs into her Google Reader. And, that my friends is motivation enough to re-start this machine.

Entry filed under: Random Thoughts.

Greater Works Garden Fresh Ideas & Inspiration

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. helmetorheels  |  July 17, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    What a refreshing read! Glad you are back in the garden and blogging here!

    Reply
  • 2. Cheryl  |  July 17, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Your yard!! It looks sooooo different!! Thanks for getting this lovely blog rollin’ again. I’ve missed you. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Bunny Carlson  |  July 18, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    Hi Heidi, This is wonderful.Your yard looks great and I will be over to see it. I really enjoyed reading what you said. You are talented and a wonderful person, though I am slightly prejudice being your my friend. The one with the yellow flower, the leaves look like a weed. Wait to see if the flowers are pretty or not. The orange one looks like a Gerbera Daisy or Osteospermum Daisy, OHLA! Gazania a half hardy annual. I love how you write. I am looking forward to much more..LOVE YA HEIDI 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Heidi  |  July 18, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Pam, Cheryl and Bunny! You ladies are “awesome”! Thank you so much for your encouragement and your kind words… they mean a lot to me.

    And Bunny, I’d love to see you publish a gardening blog. You are an inspiration and an amazing gardener. Thanks for the info about the flowers in question. I think you’re right about the yellow one being a weed {altho the flowers are pretty.}
    xo

    Reply
  • 5. Bunny Carlson  |  July 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Heidi, Where do you begin?

    Reply
  • 6. Bunny Carlson  |  July 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Was I right about the orange flower?

    Reply
    • 7. Heidi  |  July 18, 2010 at 10:25 pm

      Bunny, I would totally trust your judgment. Gerbera family but different…

      Reply
  • 8. ANNA  |  July 19, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Love it! ❤ The pictures look great and i think you do an exceptionally great job on the garden! Love you. (:

    Reply
  • 9. Heidi  |  July 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Thank you Anna! Your encouragement means the world to me! I love you too! xoxoxoxooxoxoxoxox

    Reply
  • 10. Laura  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Fabulous! I would love to see your garden. Please take more photos!~

    Reply
    • 11. Heidi  |  July 20, 2010 at 8:52 pm

      Laura, maybe you’ll just have to make a road trip! How’s your lovely blog coming along? I dropped by the other day ya know…

      Reply
  • 12. Bunny Carlson  |  September 1, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Heidi, I like the new things on here. It was a joy to hang out with you tonight. I signed up for your e-mail. Looking forward to some more of your talented writing!!!! LOVE YOU LOTS!!!! Bunny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Contact me

AwesomeHerbs{at}comcast.net

Archives


