Herb Farm: Round I

May 3, 2009 at 8:07 pm Leave a comment

I’m back! Blaming it on… friends in town, cold weather, work, lack of anything to say… and when you sprinkle that with a little p.m.s. ~you get a delay in posting! Sorry!

My daughter and I went out to Shady Acres herb farm yesterday and I was like a kid in a proverbial candy store.  Although I restrained myself, I still managed to walk away $80.00 lighter.  But, that’s ok, I’ve got healthy herbs to show for it.   Here’s a few pics… below is a new ornamental herb I’d never heard of before… Porterweed~ note the gorgeous and delicate purple flowers running along a tender vine~ supposedly it will bloom all season long.  In the same container, I planted Porterweed alongside Pachouli {to remind me of the good ole days in Colorado… I do love  me the smell of Pachouli}

pachouli and porterweed

Below… some gorgeous basils… purple, Ararat and Genovese… scrumptious! Note the Lemon balm in the background to the left… I also picked up: cilantro, lavender, Greek oregano, pineapple sage, Italian parsley.

basils

Since I can’t have everything I want, it was between the bay leaf tree and this grape vine… I wrestled but the grape vine won… This is called a Marquette Grape and{so they say} hardy hardy for zones 4-8 and esp. upper midwest~ and that would be us! I understand that this grape is excellent for wine, is pest and disease resistant and that all sounds good to me.

grape vine

One thing Shady Acres uses and recommends is an organic fertilizer called Milorganite; it is supposed to do a great job of keeping the deer and rabbits at bay.  So, I forked over $18 for the bag because if it works, it’s a whole host cheaper than replacing plants.  I can rest easy tonight for a job well done… compost raked in {check} new fertilizer spread {check} a few of my herbs planted {check} garage swept out {check} sore back {check}! It’s Sunday night, time to rest.

Before you go though, make my day and let me know you were here!

God Bless!

Heidi

Entry filed under: Spring Planting.

Living With Purpose Mother’s Day Weekend!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Contact me

AwesomeHerbs{at}comcast.net

Archives


