Living With Purpose

April 19, 2009 at 2:22 pm Leave a comment

shamrock-useWe were having lunch at the table today when all of a sudden the brightest, most gorgeous red cardinal landed on a branch right outside the window.  What an absolutely stunning bird…  He hung out for a minute or so and I commented that we were pretty lucky to have this bird so close for so long.  Seriously~ they’re “flighty” birds that don’t stay in one place for too long.  My husband said that maybe it’s because they’re a visible target for predators being so red

I don’t know for sure why they’re so flighty but what I DO know is that they glorify God.  Birds… animals… plants…  they simply are.  They do what they were put on this earth to do.  They don’t worry about failing, failing economies and bulging waistlines.  {Although, one does wonder what goes on inside the mind of a squirrel~ but I digress.}

My one prayer in this life has become… to glorify God.  To do what He has put me on this earth to do.

Our small group has decided to take the “One Month to Live” challenge by Pastor, Kerry {and wife Chris} Shook.  We haven’t started {we don’t even have the book yet} so I can’t tell you a whole lot about it~ only that it’s about living with purpose and passion… as if you’ve got 30 days left!  WOW~ just thinking about that makes me want to make every minute count.

Because if I’m honest with you {anyone reading… anyone… anyone at all…} I don’t live life too passionately.  I try to glorify God but I fail… a lot and at times~ pretty stinkin miserably.

So, the moral of this blog post…  be the cardinal!

Love,

Heidi

p.s. image above is a Shamrock plant.  If you know how to take care of Shamrock plants {my husband brought it home on St. Pat’s} leave a comment.  It’s a pretty plant and I can see it needs fertilizer and transplanting…

Entry filed under: Random Thoughts.

Inspiration in the Least Likely Places! Herb Farm: Round I

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Contact me

AwesomeHerbs{at}comcast.net

Archives


