Inspiration in the Least Likely Places!

April 13, 2009 at 5:09 pm 2 comments

Just got back from celebrating the weekend with my Mom in Il.  Easter morning was beautiful!  I decided to go for a walk to the watershed in hopes of finding additional inspiration on such a glorious day.   I was thinking how lovely it would be to take in a blue heron, witness the grace of an egret, or perhaps maybe a turtle would slumber my way!  Negative… all I saw was a smashed beer can and two rotting fish.   Hmmm~ I thought~ what’s up with that? Not exactly the inspiration I was hoping for…but I guess it was the inspiration I needed.  It affirmed that this is not heaven~ nope not by a long shot and that “here” things are messy, things rot and there is death.  Thank you for the place you are preparing for those whose hope is in you Lord… a place where things are not messy, things don’t rot and there is no death!  I guess you could say~ I got what I prayed for!

Because the weather was so fantastic in IL, we did a host of spring cleaning up~ uncovering all kinds of young life in Moms garden … hyacinths, daffodils, tulips, sedum and more!  This hidden miracle never ceases to amaze me and although, you won’t find me actually professing this in MN from January – March, I am glad I live where the seasons change.

tulipWe’re home now!  Here’s my garden, that as you can see, needs some love! First item on the to-do list… get some cayenne pepper spray for the tulips!  {Those screwy rabbits…} I’ll start this weekend.  Although there’s not nearly the life coming up as in Mom’s garden, I know there’s all kinds of things heatin up! So, I’ll rake up the leaves and dust off my garden shoes and I’ll use this gardening journal {a gift from Mom} to help me to reinvent this humble piece of land.

garden-shoes

pond

Until next time… AND, let me know you were here! I’d find YOU much more interesting!

Entry filed under: Random Thoughts, Spring Planting.

Seedlings Gone Wild Living With Purpose

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl  |  April 14, 2009 at 8:50 am

    I love it when we get surprised by God! Getting His perspective really wakes me up.

    Will cayenne pepper spray work to keep the squirrels off my rosemary too?

    Reply
    • 2. Heidi  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:27 am

      The pepper spray is wax/pepper combo in pump form. It works pretty well with deer and rabbits~ probably pretty good on the squirrels too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Contact me

AwesomeHerbs{at}comcast.net

Archives


